Personal Injury Rates

Rates for Personal Injury Cases

Contingency Fee Percentage

We accept most personal injury plaintiff’s cases on a contingency basis.    In addition to attorney fees, there are hard costs of litigation, such as filing fees and service of process fees. Our contingency fee percentage remains at 33.33% for clients who forward or promptly reimburse litigation costs.  When our firm forwards the litigation costs, the attorney fee percentage increases to 35% after filing and 40% after arbitration or trial. For an explanation of hard costs / expenses of litigation see: Filing an Oregon Lawsuit

Oregon Attorney Fee Awards

In some cases, Oregon statutes allow for attorney fees to be awarded after a lawsuit is filed.  ORS 20.080 has an attorney fee provision for plaintiffs in personal injury cases filed for $10,000.00 or less, provided that a proper demand package has been sent to the proper parties.  For injury claims filed under the Oregon landlord/tenant act, ORS 90.255 provides for reciprocal attorneys fees, meaning the losing party must pay the attorney’s fees of the prevailing party.  If a person is injured as a result of a civil rights violation by a governmental agent attorney fees may be sought pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1988(b).  It is advantages to a plaintiff to file a lawsuit under an attorney fee provision, because if attorney fees are awarded, then these fees offset any attorney fee percentage.

Hourly Rates for Civil Defense and any Plaintiff’s case we don’t accept on a contingency fee basis:

Regular Attorney Rates:  $300.00/hour

Regular Legal assistant Rates:  $125.00

Prepaid Attorney Rates:  $200.00/hour

Prepaid Legal Assistant Rates:  $85.00/hour

Flat Fees:  We sometimes offer flat fees for a defined amount of work.

Disclaimer

Please Note:  Our rates are subject to change without notice.  Unless we have a written fee agreement we do not represent you.  Our fee agreements contain additional terms than those listed above.

Comments are closed